Ready, Set, Go!

We moved out of the house and into the condo on Saturday. The move itself was fairly painless as far as moves go – we didn’t bring much with us-  furniture, clothes or otherwise and so I am definitely crossing my fingers that our summer lasts well into September because we didn’t bring any winter clothes. Deciding what to take was tricky at times. Do we take the bikes? It is summer after all. No, we don’t take the bikes because we’re not used to downtown biking.  Do we take the racquets? How many forks? There were a lot of decisions to make in packing that required more thought than I had initially considered. Four months isn’t long enough to miss any one particular thing, but I couldn’t remember how often I used, for example, a cheese grater. When was the last time I grated cheese….? The cheese grater came. But not bringing stuff like winter clothes was definitely one risk we took to limit our baggage back and forth.

The unit looks pretty sparse, what with the white couch against the white walls and the two empty white bookshelves and the white chairs. But I am liking sparse, at least this week! I think this temporary residence situation will provide an interesting exercise in living without all the stuff, which, as a firm believer in whatever the opposite of hoarding is, I am looking forward to. The purging that went into this move alone was fantastic, and one goal of mine is to move back into the newly renovated house with fewer things than we came with. We’ll see.

Before we left the kitchen had been gutted. We actually managed to sell our cabinets and two appliances in exchange for a small sum and the buyer’s tax filing services (she’s an accountant). The barter system works! We were not able to unload the stove, so we’re looking into donating this to the ReStore. The cabinet removal revealed a really funky wall colour, which I am guessing is from the 70s,  and also about a half a century of flooring stacked on top of each other. The contractor will remove all of this and then lay down new hardwood which will span both the kitchen and the current carpeted portion of the hall and family room. I know, I know, hardwood isn’t the *best* choice for a kitchen, especially since we have a small dog, but in the war of form vs. function, aesthetics won this battle. 

Half a century of flooring

And I can see sixties, and seventies and eighties…

The heavier demo began this week and only three days behind schedule, owing to our preference to move in/out over the weekend. So the adventure begins… I am doing my best to not let how *big* this whole thing is intimidate me, as apparently its super “go” time from now until finish. Dave and I will be making decisions on a near daily basis from this point on, from what I understand, so I am going to have to remain focused. We’re going by the house today after work to see how smashy smashy the place got this week, and to take lots of progress pictures. *Fingers crossed* that there was progress!

look ma, no cabinets!

Leave a Reply

