Floor Stain and New, Lighter Walls

A sampling was in order, since I was having trouble deciding on a stain for the floors. D and I are getting pretty adept at these little arts and crafts projects. We got small pots of our top picks and gave them two coats and voila – flooring samples! My favourite is Dark Walnut, but Provincial is a VERY  close second.

IMG_1282

left-to-right: Dark Walnut, Special Walnut, Provincial.

Its a good thing we won’t be making this decision in a vacuum. By the end of the week, we’ll have the kitchen installed which should allow us a slightly more complete look of the finished room. We also have the walls to work with, which just today were repainted with Edgecomb Grey, only at 50% saturation this time, which makes them a LOT lighter than before. I am almost positive that I am happier with this arrangement. Almost.

IMG_1273

As I’ve mentioned before, colour is really tricky, at least for me. This Edgecomb Grey has caused me several sleepless nights (yes, sad but true.) But I guess this new hue is my final answer. I do like how soft and airy it is, but I am afraid that once that window goes in back all the colour will be washed out of it.  I also worry that it doesn’t provide the right contrast with the trim. Sigh, I realize that the best thing to do at this point would be to snap out of it because the reality is, any decision would probably have me second-guessing myself. Its been a long year of deciding on things like this and I am almost at the end of my rope. Just. A little. Bit. Longer.

Hardware is another such decision that I am agonizing over completely needlessly. I made a trip to Restoration Hardware this afternoon to choose knobs and pulls for the kitchen that I really should have ordered a few weeks ago. I found these:

IMG_1271

Asbury pull

And these:

IMG_1270

Ephram Pull

And these I found at Upper Canada Hardware:

IMG_1262

M1288 from Top Knobs – Upper Canada Hardware

The Ephram pull was inspired by a gorgeous kitchen that was featured this Spring in Canadian House and Home magazine. They are from RH. I am a little conflicted about making a purchase from RH. I got the Benson pendants there back in the winter, but (semi?) vowed not to return because of their policy to tack an additional 20% of your total purchase price for “shipping and taxes.” Most reasonable American businesses who operate in Canada build this into their pricing model, but not RHG, so on principle (and after having learned the hard way with those pendants) I didn’t want to give them any more of my business. That said, they have a 3-4 day turnaround time and a gorgeous selection, so its compelling because I am under a 3-4 day timeframe. Whichever I choose, it needs to be onsite within the next few days so that the kitchen company can install them. But back to the stain…

IMG_1282

 

given the softness of the walls, which would you choose?

3 responses to “Floor Stain and New, Lighter Walls

  1. I’m going to say the darker floor (walnut?) stain. I think it will be a nice contrast with the walls. PS I also found Edgecomb Grey to be a tricky colour.

  2. I have the same colors. I love the Edgecomb grey. I did the floors this week with the special walnut. The sample looked dark, but when the did the who room it was way too light. To try to fix it they did a second coat with Provincial. Currently I have the flooring contractor on hold because I still don’t like the color. My next step is to try the dark walnut. I am curious how your floors turned out.

Leave a Reply

